Meet DJ & Valerie

A video message from DJ & Valerie

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from DJ & Valerie

Hello from California! Thank you so much for taking the time to look through our profile as you consider us for your child.  We are so blessed to have this opportunity.

We are overjoyed to grow our family once more through adoption. We love being parents and look forward to opening our hearts and home to your child. We love all things Disney and enjoy reading, spending time with family, playing board games, and attending sporting events! We are excited to include your child in our lives and share with him or her our love, support, and happiness.

About Our Family

We’ve been together for 6 years and got married in 2020.  Having a family is something we always talked about and, after speaking to doctors about our chances of getting pregnant, we decided that adoption was the best option for us. In 2021, we were extremely blessed to adopt our daughter Carly!  We are very excited to continue to grow our family through adoption.

We enjoy spending our time watching some of our favorite tv shows/movies, going on walks, trying out new restaurants, playing board games, and listening to podcasts. We are avid readers and are always looking for a good book to read. We love to travel and visit new places (especially Disneyland!), see different cultures, and try different types of food. We are excited to take our kids traveling so they can see the world and share with them our love for Disney!

A Little Bit About DJ

DJ grew up in a military environment, with his father serving in the United States Army.  Throughout his childhood, DJ traveled with his family to various cities all over the US and even lived in Germany for 3 years.  After college, DJ became a retail manager for 13 years and, five years ago, changed jobs and now works for a supply company.

DJ is a big sports fan and has gone to multiple Super Bowls over the last few years.  He’s attended Dodgers, Angels, Lakers, Clippers, LA Galaxy, Chargers, and USC games. DJ also loves cooking, playing video games, doing puzzles, and attending comic conventions.

From Valerie:

DJ is a kindhearted, optimistic, and nurturing man and father.  He is always filled with joy and has a smile on his face. DJ also has an uncanny ability to get along with everyone, especially children.  Children gravitate to him and feel comfortable around him, I think it’s because he’s just a big kid at heart. DJ is a very patient person and a great listener.  He is an active force in our daughters’ life and loves being a dad! I know he is excited to teach our next child all about sports and games!

A Little Bit About Valerie

Valerie was born and raised in Indiana, which is where her family still resides. After college, Valerie went into the retail industry, and her job gave her the opportunity to live in cities such as Chicago, Boston, San Francisco, and Los Angeles.

In her youth, Valerie had a talent for soccer, playing from age 5 all the way through high school.  To this day, she still enjoys kicking the ball around from time to time and looks forward to teaching our kids how to play as they grow.

From DJ:

Valerie is one of the most caring people I know.  She’s smart, kind, patient, and thoughtful.  Valerie is full of love and has a natural nurturing demeanor that shines brightly with our daughter.  Valerie definitely keeps me grounded, which I need from time to time.  She is ambitious and always striving to improve and do better, never complacent with her situation. Valerie loves working in the garden and on arts and crafts projects in her free time. She loves sharing her passions with our daughter, and I know she looks forward to doing the same with our next child.

About our Daughter, Carly

Carly is truly a blessing in our lives.  She has a curious nature, an adventurous spirit, and an infectious smile that fills you with joy.  Carly loves exploring the house, people-watching, playing with her blocks, spending time outside, and snuggling with mommy and daddy.  We know Carly will be an amazing big sister because she’s gentle, nurturing, very aware of her surroundings, and enjoys being around other little children.

Our Home in California

Our neighborhood is in a diverse area with plenty of schools, parks, restaurants, and shopping centers nearby.  We live in a 3-bedroom house with a front yard, courtyard, and a decent size backyard with a water feature as the focal point on our back wall.  Our home is perfect for hosting gatherings with friends and family members.

Our neighborhood goes all out with holiday decorations, especially for Christmas and Halloween. We have people from all over the city go trick or treating in our neighborhood for Halloween, and carolers come through the neighborhood around Christmas time.

Our Promise

We promise to surround your child with love, laughter, joy, family, and many exciting adventures throughout their life. He or she will grow up in a home that supports their goals and dreams, whatever they may be. They will know from an early age that they can do or be anything they set their mind to—the sky is the limit.  We promise to teach them the value of hard work, honesty, and respect for themself and others.

We will love your child and will ensure our home is a safe place for them to grow, learn, fail, cry, laugh, make messes, and have adventures. We would love to keep you up to date on their life at your comfort level through letters, pictures, and visits.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About DJ & Valerie

  DJ Valerie
Our EducationBachelor's DegreeBachelor's Degree
Our ProfessionsWarehouse WorkerRetail Management
Our Racial BackgroundAfrican AmericanCaucasian
Some of DJ & Valerie 's Favorites
HolidayThanksgivingJuly 4th
Sport FootballSoccer
TV ShowGame of ThronesLaw and Order
BookHarry Potter SeriesHunger Games Series
MovieThe Last DragonA Christmas Story
Subject in schoolHistoryScience
More About Our Family
Our Extended Family

Valerie’s parents, as well as her brother, with his three children, live in Indiana.  We usually spend a week with them every year in the summer and, every other year, we all go to Disney World for a week to enjoy the parks. We look forward to renewing our Disney passes soon!

Both DJ's sister and older brother (along with his family) live in California with us.  We see them on a more regular basis and spend most major holidays with them.  DJ’s parents live in Alabama and usually fly out to visit every year to spend Christmas with the family. We usually celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve at our home and spend Christmas Day at DJ’s brother’s house.

Our Faith

We both are Christian and were raised in the church. When the pandemic hit, we transitioned into attending church via online services.

Our Musical Interest

We both enjoy a variety of genres of music from Pop, Hip Hop, Country, Rock, Oldies and R&B. However, 80s and 90s music is hands down our favorite.

Love For Sports

Both sides of our families are sports enthusiasts. Especially when it comes to soccer, football, and basketball. We all enjoy watching and playing most sports. We both played sports year-round, from elementary school through high school. Sports have helped develop us into the people we are today. They taught us teamwork, dedication, hard work, and perseverance at a young age. It may also be why we get so competitive when playing games.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn-2 years old



In Closing

Thank you so much for taking the time to look through our profile and for considering us as potential parents for your child. We are extremely overjoyed for the opportunity to grow our family and open our hearts and home to another child. We look forward to sharing with your child our love for Disney, sports, family time, and fun. We have so much love to offer to your child and are excited to support, encourage, and teach him or her as they grow and learn. We look forward to hearing from you and learning about you!

Call or Text us